Journal of cultural Economics on a desk

Journal of Cultural Economics

The Journal of Cultural Economics published by Springer Verlag, is recognised as the official journal for the Association for Cultural Economics International.

Papers published in the journal apply economic analysis to a range of creative and performing arts as well heritage and cultural industries, whether publicly or privately funded. The journal also explores the economic organization of the cultural sector and the behavior of producers, consumers, and governments operating within the sector.

Readers will find original papers dealing with the theoretical development of cultural economics as a subject, the application of economic analysis and econometrics to the field of culture, and the economic aspects of cultural policy. In addition to full-length papers, the journal offers short papers and book reviews.

All issues of the Journal are available online.


Submitting a paper to the Journal

Authors wishing to submit papers to the journal are encouraged to review the aims and scope of the journal and follow the instructions to submit a manuscript.



The Journal has 2 co-editors who oversee all papers published within the Journal.

The current co-editors are:


Douglas S. Noonan

O’Neill School of Public and Environmental Affairs
Indiana University – Purdue University, Indianapolis
801 W. Michigan St.
S4073; Indianapolis, IN 46202, USA


Federico Etro

Department of Economics
University of Florence
V. Pandette 32, Florence, Italy, 50127


In addition to the main Journal co-editors the current book review editor is:

Michael Hutter

WZB Berlin Social Science Center
Reichpietschufer 50
10785 Berlin, Germany.


Editorial Board

The current members of the Editorial Board for the Journal of Cultural Economics are:


Indexing of the Journal

The Journal of Cultural Economics is abstracted/indexed in:

The Journal is also included in the Social Science Citation Index with an Impact Factor in the 2018 Journal Citation Reports (JCR) of 1.825 and a 5-year Impact Factor: 1.579 and is officially cited as: J Cult Econ.