Every 2 years to coincide with the ACEI Biennial Conference the  following prizes are awarded.

Presidents’ Prize

 Award for the best paper by a young scholar at the ACEI biennial conference. 

Prize: USD 1,000 plus publication in the Journal of Cultural Economics (subject to revisions as directed) with special mention upon publication of being the Prize winner.

Eligibility criteria: At least one of the co-authors on the paper is a young scholar. This applies to all graduate students plus early career scholars who are within early stages of their career after recently completing their Doctorate.

Selection process: The Presidents’ Prize is determined by the more recent Past President, the current Present and the future President or President-elect of the ACEI. The 3 Presidents will meet with one or both of the co-editors of the Journal of Cultural Economics to select the winner.

Pommerehne Prize

Award for the best paper of the past two years (i.e., between the two biennial conferences) in the Journal of Cultural Economics.

Prize: USD 1,000 plus special mention of being the Prize winner.

Eligibility criteria: All papers published in the Journal of Cultural Economics over period since the last conference at which the previous Pommerehne Prize was awarded Prize will be automatically eligible for consideration.

Selection process: The Journal of Cultural Economics Co-editors will recommend the Pommerehne Prize winner to the Executive Board of the ACEI for the Board to ratify. In the case where the co-editors are unable to made a clear recommendation, a short-list of candidates will be provided to the Executive Board. The Board members will be expected to read the papers and vote to determine the prize winner.

In addition, commencing in 2021 a new prize has been created specifically to recognise the Best Paper at the Young Researchers Workshop.  Details of the new prize are provided below:

Young Researchers Workshop Best Paper Award

Awarded to the best full paper submitted to the Young Researcher Workshop

Prize: USD 500 and special mention during the ACEI Conference General Assembly meeting and on the ACEI website

Eligibility criteria: Papers accepted for the ACEI Young Researchers Workshop (YRW) are eligible for the Best Paper Award. All full papers submitted by the deadline will enter the competition, unless the author of a paper explicitly opts out of the procedure (via email to the facilitator of the YRW before the full paper submission deadline). The criteria correspond to the Aims & Scope of the Journal of Cultural Economics. The winner of the YRW Best Paper Award is announced during the ACEI General Assembly and on the ACEI website. The winner also receives US$500. Furthermore, the editors of the Journal of Cultural Economics jointly decide whether the winning paper enters the reviewing process for publication in that journal.

The facilitator of the YRW and the editors of the Journal of Cultural Economics jointly determine the winner of the YRW Best Paper Award. The decision is made in a closed meeting after the YRW has taken place and before the ACEI General Assembly. The winner is determined via a majority vote, with the YRW facilitator and the journal editors each casting one vote. In case of a voting tie or any other problem for this committee to nominate a winner, they may involve the current ACEI President and President elect to also cast a vote on a shortlist of eligible papers.